Seton Hall University

McQuaid Medal

McQuaid Medal for Distinguished Service

McQuaid MedalOn May 5, 1964 the Seton Hall University Board of Trustees commissioned the Bishop Bernard J. McQuaid Medal for Distinguished Service. The medal is awarded by nomination of the University President to members of the faculty, administration and staff who have rendered outstanding service to the University.

The award expresses the University's grateful appreciation and high regard for members of the Seton Hall community who have served beyond measure with selfless dedication and high distinction. The medal bears the honored name of Bishop Bernard J. McQuaid, first president of Seton Hall, who throughout his life was dedicated to Catholic education.

The medal is in the shape of a shield, forged in bronze with a gold finish. The recipient's name, along with the date of award and the name of the school or office they serve, are inscribed in cursive script on the reverse side. The front features a shamrock, which signifies Bishop McQuaid's Irish ancestry and the Holy Trinity of the Father, Son, and Holy Spirit on the triangular tip connecting the medal to the ribbon. The legend "Bishop McQuaid Distinguished Service Medal" adorns the outside border of the medal.

The inside features the Cross of Saint Andrew, Patron Saint of Scotland and the Diocese of Rochester in Great Britain, which Bishop McQuaid adopted as part of on his own coat of arms when he became leader of the Diocese of Rochester, New York from 1868 to 1909. Within the center is the Seton Hall University crest, featuring the school motto Hazard Zet Forward, that translates "In Spite of the Hazards, Go Forward," in Old English. James Roosevelt Bayley, the first Bishop of Newark who named Seton Hall after his aunt, Elizabeth Ann Seton, the first American-born saint, adopted the motto.

The seal proper features various symbols from the famed Seton and Bayley families, who were instrumental in the identity and development of the University, along with the Archdiocese of Newark. It is adorned with a ribbon of sky blue and white, the colors of Mary, the Mother of God, Mother Seton and Seton Hall University. While a few minor variations have been made to the original design, the Bishop Bernard J. McQuaid Medal for Distinguished Service remains an important symbol of recognition to those who have rendered extraordinary service to the University.

Criteria for McQuaid Medal

  1. The award will go to an individual or individuals who meets the following three criteria:
    • demonstrated commitment to the Catholic mission and goals of the University;
    • provided outstanding service to the University by doing exceptional work in their own position but also have served the larger University community;
    • full-time employment at the University for no less than 15 years, as of December 31, 2021.
  2. The award, given only once to any person, will be restricted to full-time employees. Students and part-time employees are not eligible.
  3. The total number of awards in a given academic year of the University will not exceed three. In any given year, there may be one, two, three, or none.

Process for Awarding of McQuaid Medal

  1. The President will appoint a committee to make recommendations to the President for recipients of the McQuaid Medal. The committee will consist of three to five previous recipients of the medal who are presently full-time employees of the University. An effort will be made to have a mix of faculty, staff and administration in the composition of the committee. In addition, the following will serve as ex officio members of the committee: Associate Vice President for Human Resources, Minister or representative to the Priest Community, President of the Student Government Association (SGA) and Chair of the Faculty Senate.
  2. The committee will also welcome nominations of eligible candidates by members of the University community. The committee will be charged with making recommendations to the President from the pool of eligible candidates and submitted nominations, according to the above criteria.
  3. All nominations must be sent to the Committee Chair by the date noted in the memorandum. After reviewing the specific nominations and a listing of all eligible persons within the University, the committee will send to the President a list of six persons.
  4. In consultation with the Executive Cabinet, the President will select the awardee(s).
  5. The President’s office will inform awardee(s) of their selection.